LifeLock vs USPS Informed Delivery in 2026
Compare LifeLock and USPS Informed Delivery for a household: what each source says it does, what it costs, how to start, and what to check before choosing.
CleverDings is published by the makers of Benefit Buddy, Postal Buddy and Packing Buddy, which are compared here alongside other apps.
Compare LifeLock and USPS Informed Delivery for a household: what each source says it does, what it costs, how to start, and what to check.
| Option | Own price | What its source says it is |
|---|---|---|
| LifeLock | Core individual annual pricing starts at $10.42 per month; annual payment is $124.99 today [1] [1] | Offers identity-theft protection plans for people with checking and credit accounts; provides a 100% Restoration Guarantee and up to $3M for recovery costs [1] [1] [1] |
| USPS Informed Delivery | not published [2] | A service the USPS website gives access to, with a register and sign-in option [2] [2] |
| Postal Buddy | Senior's side is free forever; Plus costs $9.99 a month or $79 a year, with a 30-day Plus trial and no card needed when the first helper joins [3] | An app that tells an older person, in big print and out loud, what each letter they photograph is [3] |
The short answer
LifeLock offers identity-theft protection plans for people with checking and credit accounts, and higher tiers for people with more accounts, property, or investments. [1] [1] USPS Informed Delivery is a service the USPS website gives access to. [2] Postal Buddy is an app that tells an older person, in big print and out loud, what each letter they photograph is. [3]
If you want a tool that protects against identity theft and helps with recovery costs, LifeLock says it does that. [1] If you want access to a USPS service, USPS Informed Delivery is reached through the USPS website. [2] The sources for USPS Informed Delivery say nothing about its price or what it shows, so check its pages for details.
What LifeLock, USPS Informed Delivery is built for
LifeLock Core is for people with checking and credit accounts. [1] LifeLock Total is for people with multiple accounts, a 401(k), property, or investments. [1]
USPS Informed Delivery is reached through the USPS website. [2] The USPS website also offers a tool to calculate a price, a tool to look up a ZIP Code, a change-of-address service, a service to rent or renew a PO Box, and Click-N-Ship. [2] [2] [2] [2] [2] The sources for USPS Informed Delivery do not state what the service shows, how it works, or what it costs. Visit the USPS site to see what Informed Delivery covers.
What Postal Buddy is built for
Postal Buddy is made by the team that publishes this site. It is an app that tells an older person, in big print and out loud, what each letter they photograph is. [3] You take a photo of each letter you get, and Postal Buddy tells you, in big print and out loud, what it is. [3] The app can read its explanation of a letter out loud. [3]
For a bill, it shows the sender, the amount and the due date. [3] For a suspected scam, it says not to pay or call the number on it, and Postal Buddy says it never calls a letter safe. [3] Its web scam check is free and needs no account, and Postal Buddy tells you what looks wrong and says nothing is kept. [3]
The older person does not have to sign in; family helpers sign in. [3] Plus adds a Monday email on what needs doing, what was caught and what changed; on the free plan, one family member gets a Monday email with how many letters came. [3] Plus includes alerts for a scam asking for money, a bill about to go overdue, a government letter, or a bill that jumped. [3]
Pricing and fees
LifeLock Core individual annual pricing starts at $10.42 per month. [1] LifeLock Core individual annual payment is $124.99 today. [1] LifeLock Advanced and LifeLock Total pricing is not stated in the sources here, so check the LifeLock site for those prices.
USPS Informed Delivery: its sources do not publish a price, so check the USPS site for any cost. [2]
Postal Buddy says the senior's side is free forever; Plus costs $9.99 a month or $79 a year, with a 30-day Plus trial and no card needed when the first helper joins. [3]
Getting started
For Postal Buddy, you can try a demo with a made-up family without an account. [3] The older person does not have to sign in; family helpers sign in. [3] The app is made for phones and the web. [3] A web app is listed, but the Postal Buddy website says it is opening soon. [3]
For USPS Informed Delivery, the USPS website is where you start. [2] The sources do not give further setup steps. Visit the USPS site to see whether it asks you to create an account and what it shows after you sign in.
For LifeLock, the sources do not describe sign-up steps. LifeLock Core individual annual pricing starts at $10.42 per month, with a payment of $124.99 today. [1] [1] Check the LifeLock site to see what information it asks for when you join.
Things to check before you choose
Ask these of either tool:
- What does it actually show or do for you, and does that match what you need for your household?
- Does it work for someone who is not technical, or does it need a family helper to set it up?
- What does it cost, and is there a free option or a trial before you pay?
- If it protects against identity theft, what does it cover and what is excluded?
- If it shows your mail, does it show every letter or only some, and how far ahead?
- Can you cancel without a penalty, and how long do you have to decide?
- What information does it ask for, and what happens to your data after you share it?
- Does it read or explain letters, or does it only show images of envelopes?
How to choose
If you want an app that tells an older person, in big print and out loud, what each letter they photograph is, Postal Buddy says it does that. [3]
If you want to flag a suspected scam and be told not to pay or call the number on it, Postal Buddy says it does that. [3]
If you want access to a USPS service, USPS Informed Delivery is reached through the USPS website. [2]
If you want identity-theft protection, LifeLock says it offers up to $3M coverage for identity theft. [1]
If you want alerts for scams, overdue bills, government letters, and bill changes, Postal Buddy Plus says it includes those. [3]
Frequently asked questions
Is USPS Informed Delivery free?
The sources for USPS Informed Delivery do not publish a price. [2] The USPS website is where the service is reached. [2] Visit the USPS site to see whether there is any cost before you sign up.
How much does LifeLock cost per month?
LifeLock Core individual annual pricing starts at $10.42 per month, with an annual payment of $124.99 today. [1] [1] Advanced and Total tier prices are not stated in the sources here.
Does Postal Buddy cost money for seniors?
Postal Buddy says the senior's side is free forever. [3] Plus costs $9.99 a month or $79 a year, with a 30-day Plus trial and no card needed when the first helper joins. [3] The older person does not have to sign in; family helpers sign in. [3]
Can Postal Buddy identify a scam letter?
For a suspected scam, Postal Buddy says not to pay or call the number on it, and it never calls a letter safe. [3] Its web scam check is free and needs no account, and it tells you what looks wrong and says nothing is kept. [3]
Can you try Postal Buddy without an account?
You can try a demo with a made-up family without an account. [3] The older person does not have to sign in; family helpers sign in. [3] The app is made for phones and the web. [3]
Postal Buddy says the senior's side is free forever; Plus costs $9.99 a month or $79 a year, with a 30-day Plus trial and no card needed when the first helper joins. [3]
Try Postal BuddySources
Related comparisons
- AARP Fraud Watch Network alternatives in 2026
- AARP Fraud Watch Network vs Aura in 2026
- AARP Fraud Watch Network vs BBB Scam Tracker in 2026
- AARP Fraud Watch Network vs Carefull in 2026
- AARP Fraud Watch Network vs EverSafe in 2026
- AARP Fraud Watch Network vs Hiya in 2026
- AARP Fraud Watch Network vs IdentityForce in 2026
- AARP Fraud Watch Network vs LifeLock in 2026
- AARP Fraud Watch Network vs Nomorobo in 2026
- AARP Fraud Watch Network vs True Link in 2026